Bene welcomes new Aged Care Quality Standards

In a welcome move by the Australian Government, the new Aged Care Quality Standards were brought into effect from 1 July 2019, firmly placing the consumer at the centre of care.

The new single set of standards apply to all Commonwealth funded aged care services including residential care and home care, making it easier for aged care consumers, their families and carers to understand what they can expect from aged care service providers.

The Aged Care Quality Standards set out eight new standards that seek to set a new benchmark for safe and quality care and improved outcomes for consumers.

Each of the eight standards relates to an aspect of care that contributes to the safety, health and wellbeing of aged care consumers:

  1. Consumer dignity and choice
  2. Ongoing assessment and planning with consumers
  3. Personal care and clinical care
  4. Services and supports for daily living
  5. Organisation’s service environment
  6. Feedback and complaints
  7. Human resources
  8. Organisational governance

Developed in consultation with consumers, service providers, experts and the wider community, the new standards are a positive step in aged care reform and one that is welcomed by Bene Aged Care.

If you would like to know more about what the standards mean for you, you can talk to us, read a factsheet or watch a video about the new Aged Care Quality Standards.

See all news